This home was designed by Harpster & Bliss Architects of Akron, Ohio in 1912. Inventor and entrepreneur Maurice A. Knight purchased the home in 1915 from Harold Joy, the general superintendent at B.F. Goodrich, who built the home but never lived in it. As a result, Mr. Knight, his wife, and his children are the only people to have occupied this home.
The main house is built as an American interpretation of English country estate architecture. It features 18 rooms on three floors, including two “Florida” rooms and bathrooms with original tiling. Detailing throughout the home includes many of the original lighting fixtures and hardware, as well as at least two ceramic utility sinks with the original M.A. Knight Company logo. Although a number of the original design features still exist, the M.A. Knight House has not been redecorated in many years, which will make for a stunning transformation into a ShowHouse.